Hab-Lab wins Saltire Innovation in Housing Award

John Gilbert Architects’ Hab-Lab project has won the Saltire Society’s Innovation in Housing award 2016. This is the second Saltire Society award for the practice who won the Innovation in Housing award in 2014 for PassivTEN.

Hab-Lab is a highly innovative, multi-disciplinary project which explores how to eliminate the performance gap in new and existing housing stock. John Gilbert Architects is working with Glasgow School of Art, a Council and four housing associations to create new tools, techniques and resources. Hab-Lab partners:
• Glasgow School of Art (Mackintosh Environmental Architecture Research Unit)
• Renfrewshire Council
• Ayrshire Housing
• Reidvale Housing Association
• Clyde Valley Housing Association
• Govanhill Housing Association
• West of Scotland KTP office

The judges particularly praised the partnership nature of the project and the innovation of bringing actual performance issues into the mainstream. The award was presented by Housing Minister Kevin Stewart MSP who said at the ceremony, “In this, the 80th year of the Saltire Society, these awards continue to set a benchmark for excellence in the design of individual housing and in the creation of great places. Highlighting exemplary practice in housing, the Saltire Society’s awards promote projects that showcase the importance of design in delivering good quality across all tenures and house types.”

John Gilbert Architects Director Matt Bridgestock said “We’re delighted to receive this recognition from the Saltire Society. This is an exciting project and one of many steps along a road to better understanding building performance in new and existing housing. This work is showing clear issues with the traditional way we fund, retrofit and care for our buildings. Working together, we’re exploring new ideas and options for better quality homes. We look forward to the next phase of the project and seeing the results implemented in 100s homes across Scotland”.
For more information, please see Saltire Society’s website.
Photo Credit: Graham Clark